Do You Think Khloe Kardashian Is Being Culturally Offensive?

BY TEAM JST

Habibi Love

A post shared by Khloé (@khloekardashian) on

Courtesy: Instagram/ 

Khloé Kardashian has 22.9 million followers on Instagram and some of them are offended.

During a current trip to Dubai, Kardashian posted a photo of her wearing a niqab in a selfie with a caption “Habibi Love.”

Although in Arabic, habibi means “beloved” and it’s a term of endearment, many immediately voiced their thoughts regarding the post’s cultural sensitivity.

SEE ALSO: Trip Out With Burj Al Arab’s Kaleidoscope Video

A niqab is a cloth that covers the face as a part of sartorial hijab. It is worn by some Muslim women in public areas and in front of non-mahram adult males, especially in the Hanbali Muslim faith tradition.

In Dubai, travelers are not required to wear a niqab but Kardashian decided to participate and immediately came under fire. One Instagram comment read:

Women getting killed and beaten up for wearing the niqab, but you keep pretending it’s a fashion accessory, the disrespect,” one comment read.

Another comment read:

I have never been more offended in my whole entire life. My sister wears the niqab and she gets vilified daily. you can wear it and it gets sexualized and praised. I am deeply offended and was a fan of yours, I am disgusted.

Some fans believe that instead of using “habibi,” Kardashian meant to use the word “hjabi” which translates to a girl or a woman wearing the Islamic head-covering.

This isn’t the first time Kardashian has been criticized for cultural appropriation. In a previous episode of Keeping Up With the Kardashians, she angered many followers by posting an Instagram photo of her sister’s boyfriend Scott Disick dressed in a traditional Arabian garb for Halloween while Kardashian was a cat. The caption of the photo was: Sheik Pussy.

Later, Kardashian apologized for her actions after confronting two Muslim employees working at DASH boutique owned by Kardashian and her sisters Kourtney and Kim:

After talking with Nazy and Durrani, I’m really upset that I’ve offended anybody. I’m even more bothered that the commenters think I’m poking fun at their culture. I didn’t realize how offensive it was. I didn’t know I was doing anything wrong. I really just have to be more aware of what I write, even if I think it’s tongue-in-cheek and I have to be more sensitive to that. I’m sorry to anybody I offended. That was the last thing I ever wanted to do.

If you were traveling in Dubai, would you post a similar selfie?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Travelers

Author:Jetset Times

Daily dose of travel news and jetset inspiration for the wanderlust generation.

Want more Jetset Times? Subscribe here!

Get the latest travel news, updates, and more!

3 Comments on “Do You Think Khloe Kardashian Is Being Culturally Offensive?”

  1. May 28, 2015 at 11:25 pm #

    Yes, I would. In the same way that I would post a photos with a kimono, sari, etc.

  2. May 29, 2015 at 8:13 am #

    Hi Gabi – Totally agree. Definitely took lots of pics in kimonos & yukatas in Japan and those are still some of the best memories!

  3. May 31, 2015 at 4:39 pm #

    No.

Leave a Reply

