Hot Eats: The Best Sushi In Tampa

BY SCHUYLER ARAKAWA

shogun sushi tampa florida 3

I consider myself a sushi connoisseur. Being half-Japanese, I had a childhood where take-out sushi was my family’s version of fast food. Therefore, I’d say that sushi is probably the one thing in my life that I’m a “snob” about. I like quality, freshness, and authenticity. None of the Americanized fried stuff with cream cheese and fake crab will do for me. I think that when people say “they don’t like sushi,” they just haven’t tried the right sushi. Because sushi is so broad, you never know what could be inside of it. The crazy combinations with an assortment of flavors are what make the most incredible sushi. No matter where I am, finding a sushi place is a must, and I have favorite sushi places wherever life has taken me. This month, I’m starting off with my dear hometown of Tampa, Florida.

Shogun Sushi

15213 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL, 33618

I’ve been scouring the sushi scene in Tampa for about 10 years, since it’s my hometown. And this place is by far the best. When returning from school, it’s the first place I go to eat as soon I get off of the plane and the last meal I have before my break comes to an end. Shogun is a little hole-in-the-wall on Dale Mabry Ave with the freshest ingredients and most creative combinations. They have all-day sushi rolls Monday-Thursday for $3.95 and then buy-one-get-one-half-off on their special rolls on weekends. With a deal like that, I always opt for the special rolls. The higher price is evened out with their weekend deal and well worth the assortment of flavors. Why settle for ordinary? When their discounts let you have extraordinary?

shogun sushi florida tampa

Want fresh? Get the Treasure Island to start off. It’s a mix of sashimi in a spicy sauce treasured away inside of a heart made out of avocado. Or if you want to be daring? Try the Sushi Pizza. The most incredible combination I’ve ever tasted of spicy tuna or salmon on top of a scallion pancake with avocado paste. The scallion pancake adds a distinct flavor to the light fish that is great for the heartier food lovers.

And for your main assortment of rolls? Here are my top three choices:

1. Go Green:

The Rainbow Naruto roll is the freshest of the fresh. Replacing cucumber for rice, it’s an assortment of tuna, yellowtail, salmon, avocado, and tobiko wrapped in paper thin cucumber. It tastes like a salad with more substance and a satisfying crunch amongst the freshest of fish.

2. Be in Love:

The Sweetheart Roll is great to set the romantic mood. Two pieces together make the whole roll in the shape of a heart, creating the perfect roll to share. Spicy mixed fish, caviar, seaweed salad, and avocado wrapped with tuna and spicy mayo even make the outside of the heart a rosy pink. If that doesn’t set the mood for love, the light up candle that accompanies the meal surely will.

Shogun suhi 1

3. Swim Upstream:

The Twin Salmon Roll is great for salmon lovers. Spicy salmon inside topped with salmon, smoked salmon, avocado, ikura, and mango sauce makes this heavily combination to die for. I love smoked salmon and when you add the ikura and mango, it gives a pop that leaves you feeling refreshed.

The assortments and combinations at Shogun Sushi will make your taste buds think you’ve entered a creative sushi haven. Tampa has a lot of sushi alcoves that have allowed me to have some of my best sushi adventures right in my own hometown. Being right on the water, the fish are sure to be fresh. Because in Tampa, I guarantee that regardless of the season, the sun will be shining and the sushi will be delectable.

shogun sushi tampa florida 4

Jetset Postcards Back

YOU MAY ALSO LOVE:

octopus restaurant los angeles sushi 1 Hot Eats: Customize Your Sushi In Downtown LA
marina tips on sushi bar Don’t Get Left Behind: 5 Tips for Eating at a Revolving Sushi Bar
corey lee benu [Word!] #ThrowbackThursday: Why is Good Japanese Food So Expensive in America?
japanese food “Raw What?”: Japanese Foods You Are Too Scared to Eat
 Humble Potato Los AngelesHumble Potato: A Fusion of Japanese and American in the Depths of LA
JAPAN SOUVENIR  In Japan, Traveling Means Bringing Home Food as Souvenirs
Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Foodies

Author:Jetset Times

Daily dose of travel news and jetset inspiration for the wanderlust generation.

Want more Jetset Times? Subscribe here!

Get the latest travel news, updates, and more!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

